A Fun Mess
A Fun Mess Podcast
What happens to a gift that isn’t celebrated?
0:00
-11:55

What happens to a gift that isn’t celebrated?

An audio ramble for your listening pleasure.
A photograph of a blue sky and white clouds that have formed into an interesting pattern across the sky. The sky is frames by a few tree branches along the right side and bottom side of the photo.
Image description: A blue sky with white clouds that have formed into an interesting shape across it. There are a few tree branches with green leaves framing the sky along the right side and bottom corners of the photo. This is one of many, many, many, many pictures of trees tops and skies that Olwen has taken during the last month.

Hey there,

I’ve got something a little different for you today.

After sending you the letter from The Universe, I’ve been struggling with what I would next write1 to you.

In the attached audio2, I try to explain why, while I talk about what’s been on my mind lately.

Enjoy.

Olwen

PS. Some recent delights:

Mr. Dressup: The Magic of Make-Believe (Prime Video) - I grew up watching Mr. Dressup. It was a show for children, but I loved it so much that even as a teen, I’d stop channel surfing if I came across it on the TV. Mr. Dressup encouraged my love of drawing and using my imagination. So I’d been looking forward to watching this documentary for months. It was so satisfying to watch. Even though I wish more was said about some issues I feel they blew by. And it made me bawl. So. Hard.

Sweet Tooth (Netflix) - This one was painful and beautiful to watch. I avoided it for so long because I suspected it would be sad. It is. And yet I’m really glad I watched it and I’m looking forward to the next season.

Ragnarok (Netflix) - WTF was with that ending for the series?! I was so looking forward to the third and final season. And it held my attention right up until that very last episode. Grrr.

The After Party (Apple TV+) - I was surprised by how much I enjoyed both seasons.

Son of a Critch (CBC) - This one also surprised me. Lots of laughs. Made me a little bit nostalgic for things me and my family did, or experienced in Canada in the 80s.

Reservation Dogs (FX) - This show got better and better with each season. All of them have been great, and the final season has been my favourite one.

One Piece (Netflix) - We watched this feel-good show as a family over a few days. Each of us were surprised by how eager we were to see what happened in the next episode.

1

Thankfully, certain types of writing have remained available to me at the moment. Like writing fiction. My words are having too much fun showing up in the weird short stories I’m writing that make my heart happy!

2

Thank you to A and D for suggesting I record a message instead. Note: Neither of them are to blame for my tired voice.

0 Comments
A Fun Mess
A Fun Mess Podcast
Where creativity, joy, wisdom, and beauty come together and remind us of how wonderful and messy they all can be. In a fun way.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Olwen Wilson