A Fun Mess
A Fun Mess Podcast
A story about my hair and a woman named Sue
0:00
-13:17

A story about my hair and a woman named Sue

Hit play so you can hear the whole thing for yourself.

During the summer of 2020, I agreed to tell a story on stage for the very first time for True Stories (Told Live) Toronto. Thanks to the pandemic, the show in the city’s heart would now be virtual, meaning I could actually attend.

Only Marsha Shandur could convince me to do it. And I’m ever so grateful she did!

Her encouragement made me believe I could do it and kept me from backing out. Her guidance in polishing my story still helps me craft more that I’m proud of today.

Marsha KNOWS how to tell a story and she’s excellent at helping you grab and hold your audience’s attention when you tell your own.

What she’s created with True Stories (Told Live) Toronto is life-giving and I highly recommend you check it out for yourself. 

Psst… There’s another virtual show tonight, Mon., January. 24, 2022. “Tickets are pay-what-you-can with proceeds split between the performers, producers and volunteer helpers whose income has been impacted by the pandemic and with Anduhyaun, a shelter and housing program in Toronto that supports Indigenous women and children. ASL interpreters will be provided.”

And with it being virtual, there’s a very good chance that the crowd will be comprised of people from around the world. It has been each time I’ve been able to attend.

In honour of the happy memories this show brings up for me, I want to share my story. The same one that I told back in September 2020. It’s about my hair and a woman who’s dear to my heart… and SO MUCH MORE!

Also thank you to Erin Rodgers, one of my fellow storytellers that evening, who gave me the most encouraging mini pep talk right after I admitted how nervous I was. Folks, she’s still one of my favourite hype people! (And she’s great at getting you ready to tell your own stories.)

It’s important to note that the recording included here isn’t from the show. I made this one while sweating under a pile of comforters for a second time to drown out the construction noise in my neighbourhood. The audio was supposed to be polished for a podcast scheduled to launch last spring. However, after the producer confirmed receiving it, nothing else happened. It’s been months of no response to any of my follow-up enquiries and their podcast still hasn’t seen the light of day.

So, since this is my story, I’ve decided that you get to enjoy it in its good, but not perfectly polished, form.

Happy listening. 

Olwen

PS. Not only can you join my online course about visual journaling whenever you’re ready (registration is open!), but I’m also available to facilitate a custom creative workshop for your group or organization. These workshops are a great way to inject joy and delight into your events! 

It’s best to contact me through my website if you’re interested in us working together. I'd love to have a discussion so I know how to best serve your participants.

PPS.

A picture of a portion of a page in Olwen Wilson’s visual journal with the words “She’s taking an actual interest” written within a doodle. These words make up part of a sentence in the story about her hair and a woman named Sue.

Share

A Fun Mess is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber. Thank you!

0 Comments
A Fun Mess
A Fun Mess Podcast
Where creativity, joy, wisdom, and beauty come together and remind us of how wonderful and messy they all can be. In a fun way.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Olwen Wilson